Love

Last night I was too heartsick to post the blog I had ready. I had already had doubts about posting in a week when 49 people were murdered in a gay bar in Orlando in the US; and then here in the UK an MP was shot and stabbed to death outside the library where she had been holding her constituency surgery.

I know many people will say that to continue with our everyday lives, to carry on loving and laughing and living our lives to the full is the best way to fight the fear and hate and terrorism that drives individuals to these horrific acts. And I agree. But last night I couldn’t even write this for crying.

I will just copy the words of Brendan Cox, the widow of MP Jo Cox, and the picture he posted shortly after the attack. And I will continue to believe that love can triumph over hate.

Leave a Reply

